The Black Staff Association of the United Methodist Church is a non-profit professional organization dedicated to serving the needs of black staff serving The United Methodist Church in staff positions with UMC boards, agencies, conferences, jurisdictions, and districts. BSA will work collaboratively with all segments of The United Methodist Church in order to strengthen relationships that help to equip staff to more effectively network, empower and engage missional in our communities as we seek to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of our global world.



  • Add Videos
  • View All


  • Add Photos
  • View All

2017-2018 BSA Officers

Rori Blakeney
Discipleship Ministries – Young People Ministries

Vice President
Royya James
United Methodist Communications

Maurita Bowie
General Commission on Religion and Race

Nominating/Program Committee Chair
John W. Coleman Jr.
Eastern Pennsylvania Conference

Communications Chair
Sharon Dean
General Council on Finance and Administration

Harris K. Tay
West Ohio Conference


Our meeting agenda and some discussion material is included in this post. We will be discussing/taking action on the following items during our meeting:

  • ByLaw Changes - We are proposing amendments to the bylaws to add non-exempt staff as full members to NBSF. We are also refining membership benefits and proposing extension committees to assist with managing various aspects of NBSF. Members can offer additional amendments to the ByLaws. Please contact Diane Johnson ( if you wish to submit an amendment.
  • Call to Action / General Conference - We will have extensive discussion Tuesday afternoon about issues regarding general church structure, impact on employees and job transition. We hope members will share any work your conference or agency is doing to help prepare employees for possible changes/transitions. 
  • Nominations and Elections - We will elect our executive committee for 2012. All positions are open for nomination and any Full Member is eligible to serve. The executive committee officers are: President, Vice President, Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer, Secretary, Assistant Secretary, Program chair, Communications chair, Nominations chair, and Chaplain(s). Please contact our Nominations chair, Antonietta Wilson (, if you have questions.

Views: 118


Reply to This

© 2021   Created by Michelle Whittaker.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service